Jensen takes two more wins to extend TCR Denmark lead

Jensen takes two more wins to extend TCR Denmark lead

29 May 2022

At Ring Djursland, Kasper H. Jensen took another couple of wins in TCR Denmark and so extended his leadership in the standings to 25 points over Nicolai Sylvest who won the event’s first race. 

Sylvest set the pole for Race 1, outpacing the field in Q2; he was the only driver capable of completing a lap in less than 51 seconds. At the start, Sylvest led, while Jacob Mathiassen and Michael Markussen passed Jensen who had made a poor start from P2. In lap 1, Gustav Birch punted Philip Lindberg into a spin, the latter hit the barriers and the safety car was deployed. The race resumed in lap 6 with six minutes to go; Sylvest pulled away, while Mathiassen held on to P2 ahead of Markussen and Jensen who was passed by René Povlsen in lap 11. Sylvest took the chequered flag 2.2 seconds over Mathiassen, with Markussen third ahead of Povlsen, Jensen and Mike Halder who had recovered from 18th on the grid to sixth. 

Kristian Moe Sætheren had the pole for Race 2, but Steffen Larsen pipped him at the start and led the field; Jensen made a great start from P6 and moved up into third. In lap 2, Jensen passed both Sætheren and Larsen and pulled away. Behind him, Larsen and Johnny Vejlebo made contact, then Halder overtook Larsen for P2, but Larsen managed to retake the position. The safety car was deployed in lap 11, after Kenn Bach’s Honda was beached in the gravel. After the neutralization was over, Jensen retained the lead, beating Larsen by 1.2 seconds, while Halder completed the podium ahead of Sætheren.

At the start of Race 3, Jensen and Sylvest led from the front row ahead of Mathiassen, Povlsen and Halder. Once again there was a collision after the start that eliminated Sætheren and Vejlebo, prompting the safety car into action. When racing resumed in lap 4, the leading pair of Jensen and Sylvest pulled away from Mathiassen. The top positions froze until the end, when Jensen crossed the finishing line half-a-second before Sylvest; Mathiassen finished third, while Povlsen kept at bay the charging pair of Halder and Markussen in the battle for fourth.

The next event will take place at Jyllandsringen on 24/25 June.


Ring Djursland – Race 1
1. Nicolai Sylvest (Green Development, CUPRA Leon Competitión), 14 laps
2. Jacob Mathiassen (Insight Racing, Alfa Romeo Giulietta), 2.261
3. Michael Markussen (Markussen Racing, CUPRA Leon Competición), 4.695


Ring Djursland – Race 2
1. Kasper H. Jensen (GMB Motorsport, Honda Civic Type R), 17 laps
2. Steffen Larsen (Larsen Motorsport, Peugeot 308), 1.208
3. Mike Halder (TP Motorsport, Honda Civic Type R), 2.001


Ring Djursland – Race 3
1. Kasper H. Jensen (GMB Motorsport, Honda Civic Type R), 17 laps
2. Nicolai Sylvest (Green Development, CUPRA Leon Competitión), 0.542
3. Jacob Mathiassen (Insight Racing, Alfa Romeo Giulietta), 4.997


Championship points
1. KH. Jensen 132 pts; 2. N. Sylvest 107; 3. J. Mathiassen 99


Picture: TCR Denmark

© 2023 WSC Ltd. All Rights Reserved.

Contact: Neil Hudson This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Privacy Policy Cookie Policy

Credits: Rebster Ltd.
Cookies user preferences
We use cookies to ensure you to get the best experience on our website. If you decline the use of cookies, this website may not function as expected.
Accept all
Decline all
Read more
Tools used to analyze the data to measure the effectiveness of a website and to understand how it works.
Google Analytics